Search - User list
Full Version: Default group for new users
Root » Feature requests » Default group for new users
tzot
Hello. I have set up a djangobb project on a site, and through the admin interface I have setup three Groups, and some Categories where the appropriate Groups have permissions.

However, when a new user is registered, they haven't any default group, so they have no permissions at all.
How can I setup a new User to belong to a specific Group by default? Note that I might have missed some step of the forum setup, all the documentation I found was scattered and mostly incomplete.

Thanks in advance.
slav0nic
More correct question: “as do this in django?”

Check django-registration (or what you uses?) registration.signals.user_registered signal and group in handler
tzot
I'm sorry, I'm very new with django. I assumed I could do that from the web administration interface.
I'm using a basic_project forum and the registration module, with so far untouched code. Where would I add code so that upon user registration, the user becomes automatically a member of the “Users” group?
Searching the web, I found that I got to do something along the lines:
from registration.signals import user_registered
user_registered.connect(new_user_created)
Where can I add this?
Obviously the new_user_created function is where I add the logic for making the User object a member of the Users group, but I still don't know how to make what I want.
This StackOverflow answer seems related to my issue.
tzot
Since the documentation says “connect the signal anywhere in an imported module”, I added the code in local_settings.py (I imagine it's a gross misuse of the file but it works; I will try to make it more “clean” somehow). The function “new_user_created” works now.
So I have to do something like
user.groups.add(users_group)
and the only thing I need to find out is, well, how to set “users_group” to be the group “Users”. Like I said, I'm very new to Django.
hevin